Qualifying result MotoGP Austin, Marquez got a penalty and his position went down 3 grids

SPEEDCORNER.NET – Marc Marquez will not start from pole position at Austin GP, even if he is the fastest on the track. The decision was taken by the Race Direction after investigating the world champions after he blocked Maverick Vinales on laps flying in qualifying.

After hearing two protagonists, the Stewards Panel decided to punish Marquez 3 positions on the starting grid: therefore, Marquez with starting from 4th place, according to the official announcement.

This means that Vinales will start from the leading position and move to the front row with Iannone going to be Zarco. Marquez will be the first rider in the second row and he will have Rossi at his side.

Full result:

   1 Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 2m 4.064s +0.406s [Lap 6/7] 334k
   2 Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 2m 4.209s +0.551s [Lap 6/7] 328k
   3 Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 2m 4.210s +0.552s [Lap 6/7] 332k
   4 Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 2m 3.658s [Lap 4/5] 334km/h (Top Speed)
   5 Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 2m 4.229s +0.571s [Lap 5/6] 337k
   6 Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 2m 4.294s +0.636s [Lap 5/6] 338k
   7 Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 2m 4.456s +0.798s [Lap 6/7] 340k
   8 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 2m 4.865s +1.207s [Lap 6/7] 337k
   9 Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 2m 4.963s +1.305s [Lap 3/7] 335k
   10 Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 2m 5.058s +1.400s [Lap 6/7] 337k
   11 Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 2m 5.260s +1.602s [Lap 2/7] 330k
   12 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* 2m 05.457s 328k
   13 Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (GP17) 2m 05.686s 334k
   14 Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 05.761s 334k
   15 Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 5.829s +2.171s [Lap 2/6] 335k
   16 Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 2m 05.873s 333k
   17 Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 2m 05.943s 327k
   18 Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 2m 05.966s 332k
   19 Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 2m 06.035s 327k
   20 Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 2m 06.222s 330k
   21 Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 2m 06.296s 335k
   22 Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 2m 06.370s 326k
   23 Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 2m 06.537s 332k
   24 Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP16)* 2m 06.726s 331k


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here